Ask Elton
Your Flight Training & Ground School Specialist

PPL » Aircraft Tech Knowledge (A) » Ignition systems – Solid State

12.22 Ignition systems – Solid State

12.22.2 Describe the principal features and components of a typical solid-state ignition system.

A typical solid-state ignition system consists of the following components:

1. Battery:

This provides the electrical power to the ignition system.

2. Ignition switch:

This is used to turn the ignition system on and off.

3. Ignition coil:

This is a transformer that converts the low voltage from the battery to the high voltage required to produce a spark at the spark plugs.

4. Capacitor:

This stores electrical energy and discharges it to the ignition coil to produce a high voltage spark.

5. Electronic control module (ECM):

This controls the timing of the spark and the duration of the spark.

6. Distributor:

This distributes the high voltage spark from the ignition coil to the correct spark plug at the correct time.

7. Spark plugs:

These ignite the fuel-air mixture in the engine's cylinders.

8. Wiring:

This connects all the components of the ignition system together.

The principal features of a typical solid-state ignition system include:

To see more, you must subscribe for licence "PPL" or sesssion "Aircraft Tech Knowledge (A)"